Blog Tour: After We Fall by Emma Kavanagh

Tuesday, June 30, 2015

Today I have the lovely, Emma Kavanagh on the blog to share a guest post for her book, After We Fall, and to answer the question, "How does your background as a police psychologist influence your writing?"

GUEST POST:
What comes next?

Gosh, it’s been an interesting couple of years. I have had my debut book published, have given birth to a baby, survived a toddler (my crowning achievement), have enjoyed the roller coaster that is the publication of my second book, Hidden. Now I get to live my other dream - to have my novel, After We Fall, published in the U.S.

So, what comes next?

I am really hoping that the answer is a nap!

Kidding. Kidding. I thrive on the chaos.

Or, more accurately, it hasn’t killed me yet.

Well, just recently I signed my second two-book deal in the UK, with the exceptionally talented team at Arrow, which is all kinds of wonderful and allows me to continue doing this job that has become as important as breathing to me.

And what that means is that I am now knee-deep in book three (currently known as The Missing Hours), the story of a woman who vanishes, only to reappear 18 hours later with no knowledge of where she has been or what has happened to her. I have to admit that it’s getting pretty twisty, sufficiently so that I have had to unleash the index cards. But I am loving writing this as the characters sit beside me and mercilessly order me about.

I am also, perhaps prematurely, lining up book four. That doesn’t have a title. It doesn’t have much of anything, in fact. Just the kernel of an idea and a couple of characters that have already begun to nose around the watering hole. It’s about a serial killer. That’s all I’m going to say. Oh, and there are police in it. But you knew that anyway…

About the Author
Emma Kavanagh was born and raised in South Wales. After graduating with a PhD in psychology from Cardiff University, she spent many years working as a police and military psychologist, training firearms officers, command staff, and military personnel throughout the UK and Europe. She started her business as a psychology consultant, specializing in human performance in extreme situations. She lives in South Wales with her husband and two young sons.

Twitter: @EmmaLK

About After We Fall
A plane falls out of the sky.
A woman is murdered.
Four people all have something to hide… 

For fans of Tana French and Alice LaPlante comes After We Fall, a debut psychological thriller by former police psychologist Emma Kavanagh that explores four lives shattered in the tense aftermath of a plane crash.

Shortly after takeoff, flight 2940 plummets to the snow-covered ground, breaking into two parts, the only survivors a handful of passengers and a flight attendant.

Cecilia has packed up and left her family. Now she has survived a tragedy and sees no way out.

Tom has woken up to discover that his wife was on the plane and must break the news to their only son.

Jim is a retired police offer and worried father. His beloved daughter has disappeared, and he knows something is wrong.

Freya is struggling to cope with the loss of her father. But as she delves into his past, she may not like what she finds.

Four people, who have never met but are indelibly linked by these disasters, will be forced to reveal the closely guarded secrets that unlock the answers to their questions. But once the truth is exposed, it may cause even more destruction.

Told from various points of view, chapter by chapter, readers follow the investigation into the doomed plane alongside the investigation of a murder. Kavanagh deftly weaves together the stories of those who lost someone or something of themselves in one tragic incident, exploring how swiftly everything we know can come crashing down.

You Might Also Like

0 comments

Last 15 Books I've Read

269. My Neighbor Totoro by Tsugiko Kubo

268. Bad Magic by Pseudonymous Bosch

267. Think Like a Copywriter by Alastaire Allday

266. Heneral Luna: The History Behind the Movie by Vivencio R. Jose, Ruby Rosa A. Jimenez

265. Rumors (Rumors #1) by A.C. Arthur

264. An Armadillo in New York by Julie Kraulis

263. Nickerbacher, The Funniest Dragon by Terry John Barto

262. Our Love Grows by Anna Pignataro

261. Molly Rides by Adam B. Ford, Brian Berley

260. Noni Speaks Up by Heather Hartt-Sussman, Geneviève Côté

Attribution


Creative Commons License

Style Reader by Arra Abella is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License. Images and text are copyrighted, unless stated otherwise. Therefore, if you want to use any of these, feel free to contact me.

Subscribe